Google now lets you auto-delete your location history and activity data

Kelley Robertson
July 1, 2019

Of course as we mentioned, you can always just toggle off the data collection for your Location History but there are times when that will impede some of the functions of apps like Google Maps.

Investigation by Indian officials have reportedly revealed that Google has been misusing its dominant position in India by reducing the ability of device manufacturers to choose alternate versions of the Android mobile operating system.

The case is similar to one Google faced in Europe, where regulators imposed a $5 billion fine on the company for forcing manufacturers to pre-install its apps on Android devices. These should now be available on both Android and iOS.

Additionally, the brand new Android Auto UI is said to make it simpler to manage calls, messages, and alerts thanks to an updated notification center, and has additionally been optimized to show more data on wider displays. From here you can select to "Keep until I delete manually", "Keep for 18 months", or "Keep for 3 months".


Well, it's not the easiest task to spot the "location history" option in your Google account page. It can vary between three and 18 months. So, let me guide you through the steps to set up auto-deletion of your Google account's location history.

And all of those settings only affect Google's consumer-facing records and personalisation.

Google has so far introduced the auto-delete functionality only for Location History and Web Activity data, though it will likely expand the feature to other types of data.

Google has finally chose to deliver on its promise to roll out a feature that lets you auto-delete location history and web activity data.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER