Landslide victory for BJP in Arunachal Pradesh assembly polls

Saul Bowman
May 25, 2019

In contrast, AAP, which had won 67 out of the 70 Delhi Assembly seats in 2015, fell from 33 per cent in 2014 to 18.12 per cent in these elections. Congress president Rahul Gandhi lost his traditional seat in Amethi but was expected to win in Muslim-dominated Wayanad in Kerala while Mr Modi looked poised to sweep in Varanasi.

MP Prajwal Revanna on Friday offered to resign from Hassan Lok Sabha seat to get his grandfather H D Deve Gowda re-elected.

The BJP would grow in Telangana the way it did in West Bengal, he said. Khan was defeated by actor-turned-politician Jaya Prada of the BJP.

At the all-India level, the 2019 elections mark a major shift in terms of the vote share of non-BJP non-Congress parties. In the second general elections held in 1957, the Congress won 371 seats out of the 494.

The Manipur outer seat seems to be going to the Naga People's Front (NPF) while a close contest is being witnessed between the BJP and the Congress in the Inner Manipur seat. As the counting progressed by the day and after trends started pouring, it was a grand day for the Bharatiya Janata Party, as it aggressively progressed towards an unprecedented win not only in the whole country but in Chhattisgarh as well.

This is said to be the worst-ever performance by the Congress in the state as against a record of sorts by the BJP.

Together are in charge of an extraordinary 350 of the 542 lok sabha (lower house of parliament) seats. A man who has won Lok Sabha elections seven times consecutively lost by a mammoth margin of 2,10,021 to BJP's S Muniswamy. "The verdict of people in a democracy is paramount and we hope your new govt will shape India towards better growth and prosperity", he had said on Twitter.

With three cabinet colleagues of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath making it to the Lok Sabha, a cabinet rejig is also on the cards. Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh was way ahead of SP candidate Poonam Sinha in Lucknow.

AGP, which walked out of the Assam government opposing the Bill, finally chose to fight the Lok Sabha elections jointly with the BJP.

NPF, the oldest ally of the BJP in the region, and now not too happy with it, is in the BJP-led government in Manipur. Narendra Modi was elected leader of the parliamentary party. The northeastern state of Assam chose to leave four million mostly Muslim Bangladeshi immigrants off its registry of citizens previous year, and legislation proposed by BJP members, now stalled in the Rajya Sabha, or upper house of parliament, would seek to streamline citizenship law for non-Muslim immigrants.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article