Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swing

Arnold Nichols
April 15, 2019

As Johnson steps forward to take his practice swing, he accidentally connects with the ball, sending it straight into the adjacent tee marker.

But here's the thing: it was a practice swing, so the shot doesn't count.

Luckily for Johnson, the rules actually helped him on this one, and Johnson knew the rule immediately.

The most impressive part of the sequence is that Johnson then stepped up and bombed a flawless drive down the middle of the fairway. "I don't think I could do it again if I tried". Had Johnson meant to hit the ball and simply whiffed, it would have counted as a stroke, but because he was clearly taking a practice swing - as evident by the fact that he had yet to "address", or set up behind the ball - he was allowed to re-tee and take his drive without penalty.


The good news for Johnson: He hit his actual drive 285 yards down the middle of the fairway, knocked his second shot to 30 feet and two-putted for birdie on the 510-yard, par-5 hole. "I thought I'd done it all, but now I know I have", said the 43-year-old, who added Kuchar would not let him forget the gaffe.

Zach Johnson of the U.S. hits from the rough on the 2nd hole during second round play of the 2019 Masters golf tournament at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia, U.S., April 12, 2019.

"I didn't see it, but I heard it. Zach's eyes were as big as I've ever seen them".

"Only if I've been drinking", Kisner said.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER