You can now control who can add you to WhatsApp group chats

Kelley Robertson
April 6, 2019

These options are available under Account Privacy Groups in the Whatsapp settings. The invite will have an expiry timer of three days and you will have to respond within that time frame.

Until now, group administrators could add any WhatsApp user to a group without their consent, the only requirement is that the user should be a contact in the administrator's phone book.

The setting will be rolled out on Wednesday for some users and be available worldwide in the coming weeks. Political parties use the groups on platforms to spread propaganda or an agenda that they believe in or want people to hear.

On April 3, 2019, the instant messaging platform announced plans to give users more control over group chats. However, users would get an invite through a private message giving them an option to join the group.

Apart from that, WhatsApp has also released its "Checkpoint Tipline", where users can check the authenticity of information that they receive, as the messaging app looks to remove fake news circulation on its platform ahead of the Lok Sabha elections. Go to Groups and you will see these options.


WhatsApp has added a new feature that stops people from automatically adding you to groups, letting you decide which ones you want to join. The "My Contacts" option ensures that only people in your contact list can add you to group chats.

WhatsApp evidently understands how important group chats are to its service and is making them even better with a new upgrade. Hopefully, it might roll out to iOS users as well in some time. The said link will expire in 72 hours and a fresh approval request can only be made after that.

Ever get exhausted of being added to different Whatsapp groups without your permission?

In a statement, WhatsApp said that it had clarified in the very beginning that the tipline was meant to help create a database of rumours to study misinformation during elections for Checkpoint. There you will be greeted by three options which are "Nobody", "My Contacts", or "Everyone".

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER