Lok Sabha polls to be held in 7 phases

Saul Bowman
March 11, 2019

The polls will be held from April 11 to May 19 and votes will be counted on May 23, Indian EC said. Now, as the Election Commission has announced the dates and the notification has come, the model of code of conduct has come into action.

In the first phase, 91 Parliamentary constituencies in 20 states will go to polls whereas in the 2nd phase, 97 Parliamentary constituencies in 13 states will go to polls.

The meeting has been scheduled for 12 PM today, and would be chaired by chief election commissioner Sunil Arora, News18 reported.

The electronic voting machines and paper trail machines are required to be deployed in 10 lakh polling stations across 543 Lok Sabha constituencies, PTI reported. "India is very proud of the EC for assiduously organising elections for several years".

The counting of votes for all the Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies will be done on May 23.

In a hope to continue his winning streak, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is all set to contest from Uttar Pradesh's Varanasi seat again in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The Election will happen in Seven Phases and the result will be out on May 23rd for all the phases. The process of updating the electoral rolls will continue till last date of filing of nomination, he said. Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan & Tripura will have elections in two phases.

National Conference leader and former state chief minister Omar Abdullah slammed withholding of assembly elections and criticised the Modi government.

While the first phase will be held on April 11, the subsequent phases will be held on April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Simultaneously, elections to 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana will also be held on the same day.

In the fourth and final phase (April 29), voting will be held in Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai-North, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central and Mumbai South, Maval, Shirur and Shirdi.

J&K Pradesh Congress Committee president G A Mir said the tall claims of the Union Government with regards to the situation in Jammu and Kashmir stand "exposed" as the Centre has itself certified that situation is out of control and not conducive for holding simultaneous polls. As per EC sources, there will be 10,35,932 polling stations spread over 4.36 lakh locations across the country this time.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article