Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award

Oscar Cross
December 9, 2018

Murray beat out Tagovailoa and Washington State's Gardner Minshew II for the Davey O'Brien. Earlier in the day, Murray was also announced as the AP Player of the Year. Tagovailoa totaled 3,353 passing yards and 37 touchdowns while leading the Crimson Tide to the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff.

This week, he has been named the AP Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Award victor, and he hopes to add the Heisman Trophy to his collection Saturday night in NY.

If Murray wins, it would be OU's seventh Heisman Trophy.

Haskins, a third-year sophomore, stepped in after the departure of a four-year starter and smashed Ohio State and Big Ten passing records.

Regardless of whether Tagovailoa wins this year's trophy or not, it's impossible to imagine he won't be the favorite next season as well.

After taking part in a little more than 30 minutes worth of interviews, Murray moved down to the floor of the stock exchange, eventually making his way with Tagovailoa and Haskins to the balcony where they rang the closing bell.

9 overall pick by the Oakland A's in last summer's Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, is the second Sooner in two years to win the O'Brien Award, joining Baker Mayfield.

Murray, a 5-foot-10, 195-pound junior from Allen, Texas, won the award in his final year as a college athlete.

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray is adding to his trophy case.

Murray hasn't even played a top-10 defense all season, and the only top-10 D that Tua played was Georgia.

"It's been a long journey with a lot of waiting, but I think it's all been worth it", Murray said. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores. For the first time since 2008, when Oklahoma's Sam Bradford, Texas' Colt McCoy and Florida's Tim Tebow were the Heisman finalists, only quarterbacks were invited to NY for the trophy presentation.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article