Virat Kohli becomes fastest batsman to reach 10,000 ODI runs

Arnold Nichols
October 26, 2018

For the last ball, India chose to bring third man in and push point out to deep backward point.

Needing five runs on the final ball to chase down West Indies´ target of 322, Hope - who made a total of 123 - got four off Indian paceman Umesh Yadav as the tourists ended on 321-7 in their 50 overs.

Kohli, who will turn 30 next month, was dropped on 44 by West Indies captain Jason Holder off debutant seamer Obed McCoy.

Umesh Yadav, however, managed to retain his place in the squad after giving away 64 and 78 runs in the first two ODIs. The right-handed batsman became the fifth Indian to touch the 10,000 ODI-run mark after Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and MS Dhoni.

Kohli crossed the 10,000-run milestone in his 205th innings in Viskhapatnam before proceeding to belt his second successive ton of the five-match series.

The innings pivoted largely on a 139-run, third wicket stand between Kohli and Rayudu, who faced 80 deliveries and counted eight fours, with the partnership laying the groundwork for the final late assault.

Kohli has been in sublime form across formats this year and has scored over 900 runs in ODIs alone. Rayudu was bowled by spinner Ashley Nurse.

Kohli took a single off Nurse to eclipse the 10,000-run mark, before going on to score a hundred with a boundary off Marlon Samuels.

His retirement statement said, "I thank the countless persons who were instrumental to my success, particularly my family and QPCC where I developed my skills at an early age". Despite achieving the goal, West Indies came up way short.

A 143-run partnership ensued between Hetmyer and Shai Hope for the fourth wicket as the duo took calculated risks.

After a rather ordinary performance by Indian fast bowlers in the second ODI against Windies in Visakhapatnam, the team management has called back Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah for the rest of the matches.

The remaining three matches will be played in Pune, Mumbai (Brabourne Stadium) and Thiruvananthapuram on October 27, 29 and November 1.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article