Beware of the message that will crash your PlayStation 4

Kelley Robertson
October 15, 2018

Seems like the safest thing to do for the time being is to only check PS4 messages on mobile, rather than on the console.

Some PS4 owners are experiencing a frightening glitch that's forcing them to factory reset their consoles. Sony's remained suspiciously quiet about this, but have however, fixed the messaging system to prevent the dodgy characters.

As noted, the user uses the term "bricks", incorrectly. Apparently, a database rebuild is required to get the machines back up and running.

You can view the exploit message in the app too and it won't break your phone, but deleting it there still won't protect your console. It happened to me during Rainbow Six: Siege.

Reddit user Qraeshawn said: "I had a player named Zilla-Trickz that sent me 7 messages saying: Fortnite [] 3, but the heart was an emoji".


Some users are having to report they've gone to the lengths of a factory reset on their PlayStation 4 consoles in order to clean up the mess - this looks like a particularly nasty bug. You can opt to receive messages only from your friends, or you can turn off messaging altogether.

From a web browser, visit the PSN Privacy setting page, then sign in with your PS4 account credentials.

To adjust settings go to: Account Management - Privacy Settings - Who Can Message Me - Select "No One".

While it doesn't outright reference the PS5, the job listing isn't exactly subtle about what the job will entail: "You will own the roadmap for [the] next generation PlayStation campaign", it claims. As a reminder, Sony has disabled the ability to send the offending characters, so it's unlikely anyone will be affected from here on out. Thankfully, it doesn't impact or delete your data, but it sure is a nuisance.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER