Headline acts Messi, Ronaldo bid farewell to World Cup

Arnold Nichols
July 4, 2018

Football fans were left scratching their heads when both Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo were both ousted in the round of 16, following Argentina's loss to France and Portugal falling to Uruguay.

Get the latest World Cup news updates. "Leo?" newly-painted above the Ronaldo portrait. But although both have made it to the final weekend in the past - Ronaldo having finished fourth in 2006, Messi second in 2014 - the last 16 was where their journey ended this time.

A 20-year-old Messi and Argentina fan, Monotosh Halder, committed suicide in Habibpur, West Bengal's Malda district, after the Albicelestes went down 4-3 to France in the Round of 16 of the ongoing World Cup in Russian Federation. The Brazilian legend tweeted to the Frenchman: "Congratulations, @KMbappe, 2 goals in a World Cup so young puts you in great company".

Another legend of the game, France's Platini helped his side win 1984 Euro and finished as the tournament's top goal-scorer with 9 goals. On a near-cloudless afternoon by the Kazanka River, Messi and his Argentine teammates were overrun and outmaneuvered by a French team full of skill, speed, youth and, for the first time in this tournament, goals.

Messi experienced the quality that Kante has in his locker first-hand during the first-leg of our Champions League tie with Barcelona last season.

The unexpected injury of Edinson Cavani, who scored a brilliant brace against Portugal, leaves Luis Suarez as the only option in attack for the quarter-final against France.

"I always believed that Argentina could win, so of course I feel a certain frustration, but this will make me stronger as a coach, to learn, to grow". So far in the tournament, he had had a lackluster tournament and had not played to expectation. Alex had gone missing following Argentina's 3-0 loss to Croatia. In all, Mbappe joins Pele and four other teenagers with multiple goals in one World Cup - Michael Owen (for England in 1998), José Altafini (for Brazil in 1958) Edmund Conen (for Germany in 1934) and Manuel Rosas (for Mexico in 1930).

Other reports by

Discuss This Article