Siddarth Kaul Makes T20I Debut vs Ireland

Arnold Nichols
June 30, 2018

Ireland, trailing 1-0 following a 76-run defeat on Wednesday, chose to bowl on a day when the Malahide surface displayed a uniform shade of green.

India left for Dublin on Tuesday after having a practice session in London on Monday.

If Ireland were hoping to make a step forward from the previous game, this turned out to be two steps back as their last seven wickets fell for just 40 runs in the space of 39 balls.

While Rahul has been a constant part of the T20I squad, Ajinkya Rahane's omission from the ODI squad means that he is once again a contender for the number four spot when the three-match series against England begins on July 12.

Ireland captain Gary Wilson elected to field first after winning the toss and the decision backfired badly, with India winning by a huge 143-run margin. Since the tour of South Africa, this is the first time a full-strength Indian team will be seen in action.

Despite the victory, Virat Kohli, the Indian skipper, talked about chopping and changing in the T20I format. However, the pace department is an area of concern, as the second-choice fast bowlers have not enjoyed enough game time.

Rahul is expected to walk into the side after his performances in the recently-concluded Indian Premier League (IPL) season with Kings XI Punjab. Since the 2017 Champions Trophy, India have played 32 ODIs and 18 T20Is, with Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah handling the new ball in 26 ODIs and 9 T20Is, respectively.

The major change that sparked was in the form of MS Dhoni who was benched and was replaced by Dinesh Karthik, who didn't get a chance in the first match.

It's a rare occasion when the former Indian skipper had to sit out despite being in the squad.

India can't lose the series now, so the team management has chose to field the players like Dinesh Karthik, KL Rahul, Washington Sundar, Siddarth Kaul and Umesh Yadav, who missed the first outing.

On the other hand, Ireland side will look to hit back. The match starts at 8:30 PM IST on June 27.

Ireland captain Gary Wilson announced that top-order batsman William Porterfield returned in the place of wicketkeeper Stuart Poynter.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article