Mickelson 'embarrassed and disappointed'; apologises for moving ball incident at US Open

Arnold Nichols
June 21, 2018

Mickelson decided on the move on the 13th hole Saturday at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. He finished the hole with a sextuple-bogey, make a 10 on the par 4.

Ross Kinnaird/Getty ImagesPhil Mickelson apologized for his weird outburst at the U.S. Open, saying that he is "embarrassed and disappointed" by his actions.

Phil Mickelson caused a social media storm and much discussion between fans, pundits and players when the multiple major champion decided to deliberately make a stroke at his moving ball on the 13th green at Shinnecock Hills on Saturday. Ultimately, Mickelson was given a two-stroke penalty for his infraction, finishing the hole with a 10 and the tournament tied for 48th with a score of +16.

"I'm sorry that you're taking it that way, it's certainly not meant that way". I took the 2-shot penalty and moved on. "It's amusing. I just wanted to get to the next hole and did not see that happening without the two shots".

Mickelson would shoot an 11-over 81 in the third round that dropped him to 17 over for the week and in 65th place. It's something you might see at your home course with your mates or something.

Mickelson's playing partner, Andrew "Beef" Johnston, said he saw Mickelson hit the moving ball and asked himself, "Is this actually happening?"

"Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates", Davis said, via Randall Mell of the Gold Channel. It's a risk. I could have maybe hit a shot and somehow made the putt. "I've had it with the USGA and the way they run their tournaments".


"It wasn't a thing of saying, 'I've had enough or this and that.' It just happened". "He just laughed at me, he had no words to say".

However, 1995 US PGA Championship victor Elkington believes the USGA should have disqualified Mickelson, likely for a serious breach of rule 1-2, which states "a player must not take an action with the intent to influence the movement of a ball in play".

A loophole that some will consider against the general ethos of the game, Mickelson confirmed that there were "multiple times he wanted to do it" before today's incident on the 13th.

He was immediately issued with a two shot penalty for his actions and he's surely longing for the clubhouse now.

Mickelson, more affectionately known as "Lefty", has won 43 events on the PGA Tour, including three Masters, one PGA and an Open Championship. He had those four consecutive bogeys before a par at the 12th.

"Former Masters and British Open champ Zach Johnson during an interview with ESPN's Bob Harig said: "[The USGA] lost the course".

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER