IPL 2018 Match 42 DD vs SRH

Saul Bowman
May 11, 2018

Delhi Daredevils will take on Sunrisers Hyderabad at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi on May 10, 2018.

Things could not be more different for Sunrisers Hyderabad. The two Sunrisers batsmen kept the scoreboard ticking with strokes all round the wicket.

The Daredevils had won the toss and elected to bat first with the Sunrisers reputation for defending scores preceding them.

The table-toppers struck early in the power play as Shakib Al Hasan removed openers Jason Roy and Prithvi Shaw.

Earlier, though, it looked like SRH had a battle on its hands as Pant found the flawless stage to showcase himself. Sunrisers' brilliant performance came after Pant's maiden IPL hundred, an innings having a flawless blend of a high-quality and innovative strokeplay, which were not enough to arrest his team's slide.

Their unbroken partnership for the second wicket of 176 runs is the highest in the IPL this year. To SRH's agony, he was trapped plumb in front by Harshal Patel, which brought Kane Williamson at the wicket. Delhi will have to win all their matches to enter the playoffs.

Earlier, Rishabh Pant put behind a couple of running errors that had cost Delhi Daredevils two crucial wickets to smash an unbeaten knock of 128 in 63 balls, including 15 fours and seven sixes. I think towards the end, the ball was coming nicely onto the bat.

His 13 wicket-tally coupled with a miserly economy rate of 7.05 indicate towards him being a complete bowling package. After a 38-ball 116 at the same ground four months back, this was another Pant special. And we have been playing on tough surfaces, so it was nice to go out and execute our batting plans. We have had a number of injuries as well but the players who have come in, have stepped up really well. They were thoroughly clinical in their pursuit of what looked like a tall order, but Williamson and Dhawan were just too good on the night.

Delhi's woes this season has been compounded by an inconsistent opening partnership, despite teenager Prithvi Shaw going great guns blazing at the top. Most of the match-winning performances have in fact come from Indian players, in most cases from youngsters who are yet to establish themselves in global cricket - Shubhman Gill, Prithvi Shaw, Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant and K Gowtham - to name a few.

They are unlikely to make more than one change, as they might rethink their decision of sticking to Glenn Maxwell as he hasn't fired this season.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article