Bumrah, Parthiv named in 17-member Indian squad for South Africa series

Saul Bowman
December 5, 2017

Virat Kohli has been rested for the series and Rohit Sharma will lead the squad in his absence.

Kohli has tormented the Sri Lanka bowlers during the ongoing Test series, racking up scores of 104 not out, 213 and 243 in his last three innings. Bhuvenshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Umesh Yadav form the Indian pace battery.

The BCCI has announced the squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka and also for the Test squad that tours South Africa in the beginning of January.

India Test Squad against South Africa: Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Parthiv Patel, Jasprit Bumrah.

"Definitely, this is the best balanced sides that has gone to South Africa", chairman of selectors MSK Prasad said when asked if this was the easiest selection meeting. Following that they will play a three-match ODI and T20I series against them, the Indian squad for which has also been announced.

The 23-year-old Bumrah, who has 52 and 40 wickets respectively from 28 ODIs and 3O T20Is, has not played any first-class cricket this season.

"Otherwise, Kuldeep is definitely a top-class bowler and over a period of time we'll see him growing".

The team will leave for South Africa on December 27.

Yuzvender Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Siraj, Basil Thampi and Jaydev Unadkat are included for the three-match T20I series. The surprise additions to the India's Test squad were India wicket-keeper batsman Parthiv Patel and Jasprit Bumrah, who has been recalled into the Test fold for the first time.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article