Corey Kluber wins his second Cy Young Award

Arnold Nichols
November 16, 2017

Cleveland Indians starting pitcher Corey Kluber won the American League Cy Young Award for the second time in his career, Major League Baseball announced Wednesday night on MLB Network.

Fellow Indians starter Carlos Carrasco was fourth.

It's the second consecutive Cy Young for Scherzer and his third overall-he won the 2013 AL Cy Young as a member of the Tigers. Like Scherzer, Kluber's season ended on a sour note, as he gave up nine earned runs in his two outings against the Yankees in the ALDS. Of Kluber's 107 pitches, 73 found the strike zone. He received one third-place vote, 16 fourth-place votes and eight fifth-place votes. He's now the 10th pitcher in history to win three Cy Youngs, a group that includes Kershaw, Tom Seaver, Pedro Martinez, as well as Greg Maddux and Steve Carlton, who have four, Randy Johnson (five) and Roger Clemens (seven). Strasburg missed almost a month from the second half of July into the middle of August, but he was arguably the best pitcher in baseball after his return. He also tied for the major league lead with five complete games this season.

Once again, Washington Nationals ace Max Scherzer is the National League Cy Young award victor.

He posted a 0.779 WHIP in July, while in August and September it kept rising, 1.054 and then 1.345.

After returning from the DL in late May, Kluber registered at least 50 strikeouts in each of the last four months of the season, including a season-high 64 in June, 56 in July, 54 in August and 50 in September.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article