Hosmer, Gordon of the Royals Come up Golden

Oscar Cross
November 9, 2017

Minnesota teammate Brian Dozier was also awarded a Gold Glove for his work at second base for the Twins. Only Frank White has won more Gold Gloves in franchise history.

Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado and second baseman DJ LeMahieu have been named winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award for their respective positions. Hosmer beat out Carlos Santana of the Indians and Mitch Moreland of the Red Sox. He won his first Gold Glove with the Braves in 2012 and earned the award with the Cardinals in 2015 before signing with the Cubs before the 2016 season. He had a streak of 120 games (1,013 chances) without being charged with an error, the longest streak by a Royals first baseman, according to Elias Sports Bureau.

Although he was unable to put together a consistent season at the plate, Gordon was a bastion in left field. Gordon's five Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are second-most among active Major League outfielders, trailing only Ichiro Suzuki's 10.

Gordon tied for 11th among American League outfielders with eight assists this season, his highest total since also collecting eight in 2014, the last time he was awarded a Rawlings Gold Glove. Hosmer, who will become a free agent unless he accepts the Royals' qualifying offer, won three straight during 2013-15. As calculated by Fangraphs, Barnhart led all Major League catchers in defensive value and in defensive runs saved.

The awards are decided by votes from managers and coaches in each league.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article